DAVID BADDIEL ANNOUNCES A NATIONWIDE TOUR OF HIS HIT SHOW MY FAMILY: NOT THE SITCOM

David Baddiel WIP

Following a sold out run at London’s Menier Chocolate Factory and two critically-acclaimed West End runs, DAVID BADDIEL takes his Olivier-nominated one-man show to theatres nationwide. My Family: Not the Sitcom is a show about memory, ageing, infidelity, dysfunctional relatives, moral policing on social media, golf, and gay cats. A massively disrespectful celebration of the lives of David Baddiel’s late sex-mad mother, Sarah, and dementia-ridden father, Colin. Come and be offended on David’s behalf!

Tickets for My Family: Not the Sitcom go on general sale at 10am on Friday 19th May. There is a pre-sale on See Tickets from 10am today, on Ticketmaster from 10am on 17th May and on Amazon at 10am on 18th May. For further details, visit davidbaddiel.com

When family members die, or are lost to dementia, all we tend to say about them is that they were wonderful. But if that is all you can say about them, you may as well say nothing: to truly remember our loved ones, you have to call up their weirdnesses, their madnesses, their flaws. Because the dead, despite what we may think, are not angels.

 DAVID is performing My Family: Sitcom at London’s Playhouse Theatre until June 3rd

davidbaddiel.com / @baddiel

For more information and interview requests, please contact Charlotte Robertshaw: 0207 598 7222 / charlotter@avalonuk.com

 TOUR DATES

Thursday 01-Feb-18 Aberdeen Music Hall
Sunday 04-Feb-18 Cheltenham Everyman Theatre
Friday 09-Feb-18 Truro Hall For Cornwall
Wednesday 28-Feb-18 Birmingham Alexandra
Friday 02-Mar-18 Lancaster Grand Theatre
Sunday 04-Mar-18 Salford Lowry The Quays
Thursday 08-Mar-18 Southend Palace Theatre
Sunday 11-Mar-18 Newcastle Theatre Royal
Monday 12-Mar-18 Harrogate Harrogate Theatre
Friday 16-Mar-18 Durham Gala Theatre
Saturday 17-Mar-18 Southport Atkinson Theatre
Sunday 18-Mar-18 Sheffield City Hall Memorial Hall
Monday 19-Mar-18 York Grand Opera House
Saturday 24-Mar-18 Tewkesbury Roses Theatre
Sunday 25-Mar-18 Nottingham Playhouse
Wednesday 28-Mar-18 Wolverhampton Civic Wulfrun Hall
Thursday 29-Mar-18 Northampton Royal and Derngate Theatre
Thursday 19-Apr-18 Dudley Town Hall
Sunday 22-Apr-18 Swindon Wyvern Theatre
Thursday 26-Apr-18 Worthing Pavilion Theatre
Friday 27-Apr-18 Cardiff St Davids Hall
Sunday 29-Apr-18 Reading Hexagon
Wednesday 02-May-18 Dartford Orchard Theatre
Saturday 05-May-18 Hayes Beck Theatre
Sunday 06-May-18 St Albans The Alban Arena
Thursday 10-May-18 Crewe Lyceum Theatre
Friday 11-May-18 Leicester De Montfort Hall
Saturday 12-May-18 Eastbourne Royal Hippodrome
Sunday 13-May-18 Canterbury Marlowe Theatre
Thursday 17-May-18 Peterborough Cresset Theatre
Saturday 19-May-18 Stafford Gatehouse Theatre
Sunday 20-May-18 Winchester Theatre Royal
Wednesday 23-May-18 Aylesbury Waterside Theatre
Thursday 24-May-18 Dorking Halls
Friday 25-May-18 Porthcawl Grand Pavilion Theatre
Tuesday 05-Jun-18 Aldershot Princes Hall
Friday 08-Jun-18 Worcester Live Huntingdon Hall
Saturday 09-Jun-18 Swansea Grand Theatre
Tuesday 12-Jun-18 Yeovil Octagon Theatre
Wednesday 13-Jun-18 Exeter Northcott Theatre
Saturday 16-Jun-18 Portsmouth Guildhall
Sunday 17-Jun-18 Brighton Theatre Royal
Friday 22-Jun-18 Leeds City Varieties

 

 WHAT THE PRESS SAID ABOUT MY FAMILY: NOT THE SITCOM

 ‘Baddiel launches himself into the Louis CK league of no-holds-barred comedy’  Metro

 ‘This is a rare production that boasts side-splitting laughs and also moves people to tears’ Evening Standard

 ‘Compelling to watch both for its unvarnished truth and complicated affection’  The Guardian

 ‘Hugely funny…If you’re going to disrespect the dead and the incapacitated, do it like this: truthfully, inventively and, finally, lovingly.’The Times

 ‘Universally joyful… I wish this show long life’  Chortle

 ‘Rare to see one that draws its subject as honestly, vividly and humorously as this’ The i 

  ‘A show that bubbles with love and unexpected joie de vivre’ Chris Bennion, The Telegraph

 An exceptional piece of comedy’  Den of the Geek

 ★★★★★ Metro 

 ★★★★★ Jewish Chronicle

★★★★★ Heat

★★★★★ Den of Geek

★★★★ The Guardian

★★★★ The Times

★★★★ The Telegraph

★★★★ Sunday Times Culture

 ★★★★ Evening Standard

★★★★ The i

★★★★ WhatsOnStage

★★★★ Mail On Sunday, Event Magazine

★★★★ City A.M.

★★★★ The Arts Desk

★★★★ London Theatre


 

FURTHER PRAISE FOR MY FAMILY: NOT THE SITCOM

 J.K. Rowling @jk_rowling

I was so in need of a good laugh. Thank you, @Baddiel, for your brilliant, funny, emotional show xxx

Russell Brand@rusty rockets

Go see @Baddiel’s beautiful show. Sex, death, dementia, golf memorabilia, grammar nazis and actual nazis. I “loved” it

 Ricky Gervais‏ @rickygervais

@Baddiel “My Family: Not The Sitcom” is Absolutely Brilliant! Finally a fresh spin on the old “My mum fled the nazis & wanks too loudly”.

 Hugh Laurie‏@hughlaurie

David Baddiel’s My Family: Not The Sitcom is absolutely beautiful. Hie thee, gentle Jew or gentile, to the Playhouse Theatre.

 Lily Allen @lilyallen

@Baddiel “MY FAMILY” not the sitcom and it “was” brilliant !!!!!!!!

 Graham Norton @grahnort

@Baddiel Thanks for a stunning night of big laughs and the occasional teardrop. My Family – not the sitcom is brave brutal and brilliant.

 Rob Brydon @RobBrydon

Wonderful in the extreme. Belly laughing, thought provoking and shocking. Just great.

 Jack Dee@TheRealJackDee

Don’t be the person who has to say “No, I never did see @Baddiel in My Family: Not the Sitcom”. Brilliant show.

 Sue Perkins @sueperkins

@Baddiel wonderfully bittersweet, poignant and complex. Cracking show. Thank you x

 David Mitchell @RealDMitchell

I saw @Baddiel’s new show last night and it was brilliant. Intriguing, insightful and very funny. Heartily recommended.

 David Walliams @davidwalliams

I was lucky enough to see @Baddiel’s new comedy show ‘My Family:Not the Sitcom’… Hilarious & incredibly moving.

 Matt Lucas @RealMattLucas

“Brilliant show by @baddiel… Funny, emotional, raw, honest and original.”

Ross Noble @realrossnoble

if u can get a ticket do it such a great show. genuinely touching as well as funny

Katherine Ryan @kathbum

OMG THIS FAMILY We “loved” @Baddiel‘s show @ThePlayhouseLDN this evening!!! See it if you like hearing #secrets as much as I do!!!!

 Bill Bailey@BillBailey

terrific show by @Baddiel. My Family Not the Sitcom is deeply personal , hilarious and touching in equal measure. See it while you can

 George Ezra@george_ezra

Big laughs and even a little cry. Thank you for last night @Baddiel, we absolutely “loved” it!!!!

 David Morrissey @davemorrissey64

Saw @Baddiel show My Family. Not The Sitcom tonight. It is brilliant. Very funny and deeply moving! Go c it if u can!

 Chris Evans @achrisevans

Watching David Baddiel’s My Family Not The Sitcom at The Vaudeville Theatre. Bloody funny.

 Alan Carr‏ @AlanCarr

Just seen @Baddiel ‘My Family’ Such a good show. Rare to laugh out loud, gasp and I mean literally gasp and then get all emosh. Recommended!

 Michaela Coel‏ @MichaelaCoel

Second hand nostalgia, embarrassment, family love and LIBERATION via @Baddiel #myfamilynotthesitcom Hilarious and beautiful show !!

LONDON

4A EXMOOR STREET
LONDON
ENGLAND
W10 6BD

T: [+44] 020 7598 8000

NEW YORK

31 WEST 26TH STREET,
6TH FLOOR
NEW YORK
NY 10010, USA

T: [+1] 212 400 4822

BEVERLY HILLS

9171 WILSHIRE BLVD,
SUITE 320
BEVERLY HILLS
CA 90210, USA

T: [+1] 310 424 1700